Neko Case: “That’s Who I Am” (2013)

I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but I’m completely unfamiliar with Neko Cases’s work.  I’ve heard the name, of course, and I can’t tell you how many friends and acquaintances have recommended her, but I just haven’t taken the time to seek her out.  This cut, from the forthcoming Ghost Brothers of Darkland County soundtrack, was enough to convince me that I need to.  It’s a lovely number, and her cooing, confident vocal suits the track just about perfectly.  Choice couplet: “I can be as nice as pie whenever I mean to. / Put my  hand in your front pockets and tighten up your screws.”  Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

